Coupons For Free Hugs: Favorite Character Moments from Modern Family, Season One

The Pritchett-Dunphys

Claire: Stuff like this makes me excited to someday have a daughter of my own… “Oh, Alex, honey! When you’re out shopping, you might want to pick up yourself a training bra! I know you don’t need one now but your little boobies are going to come in soon! Mummy loves you, kitten! [Mumbling] Teach her to screw with me.”  (Also the one scene where Gloria makes her jump into the pool. That was incredible.)

Phil: I’m gonna hark all the way back to the pilot and pick when he shoots Luke, Dylan, and finally himself with a soft air gun.

Haley: No major memorable moments, but I did appreciate the scene where she rubbed her phone battery all over her head to re-charge it.

Alex: This girl is SO MUCH like one of my real-life friends that it kind of freaks me out sometimes. The bit with her convincing Luke that Judy Greer was his real mom could have been taken from the diary of my friend’s life.

Luke: I just want to put him in my pocket and take him home with me. Definitely my favorite moment is when Luke and Phil riff on what could be hidden under the house. It could be ANYTHING!

The Pritchett-Tuckers

Mitchell: Anything that gets Mitchell riled up is automatically funny. (Case in point: The pigeon from the finale.) During Luke’s school project on Van Gogh, he makes the point that Vincent looked a little bit like an insane Mitchell. Annnnd cut to Mitchell running hysterically away from a skunk.

Cam: Gosh, everything? One that brought on a full belly laugh was “Travels With Scout” when Cam volunteered to play the drums for Dylan and his band.  It’s Cam’s scarcely contained glee at the little switcheroo he just pulled that slays me. (Here’s the link to the clip on hulu. If I can figure out how to embed, then I will do that soon.)

Lily: I’m so sad they re-cast Little Miss Unresponsive. (Even if the new Lily is pretty darn adorable.) All of Lily’s non-reactions to the camera are the perfect foil to the rest of the cast.

The Pritchett-Delgados 

Jay: So what if his voiceovers get a little bit Danny Tanner-ish at times? Jay’s a big ol’ softie on the inside. One of my favorite Jay moments is watching Jay’s intial skepticism towards Javier (Gloria’s ex and Manny’s father) turn into adulation turn into the disappointment that Manny has had to deal with for so many years.

Gloria: Remember when in “My Funky Valentine” Gloria started describing Columbian comedians and how they compared to David Brenner? “Does he have a mallet? Then how does he get hit in the head?” With Gloria, it’s not always what she says, but how she says it.

Manny: Manny gets funnier with every episode. You’d think the kid-acting-as-an-adult routine would be old by the fourth episode, but he just keeps getting better! My regards to Rico Rodriguez. “If this so-called Santa Clause doesn’t bring me a burgundy dinner jacket, I’m going to have a big problem.” “I’m just a boy trying to bring back style to travel!” “[Lay-ups] are deceptively hard. A curious mix of dance and strength.”

Let’s cap off the list with what may possibly be my favorite moment of Season One. Maybe happy families can all be happy in their own different way.

In “Hawaii,” Claire and Phil discuss how their family vacation couldn’t turn into a honeymoon. Phil confesses that he was foolish to ever think that it could, but that was because you can’t have a honeymoon with a proper wedding first. They renew their vows on the beach and the ukulele guy sings “Eye of the Tiger” and plays out the scene. (Here’s the clip.) It was raining on my face a little when this happened.

Comments
4 Responses to “Coupons For Free Hugs: Favorite Character Moments from Modern Family, Season One”
  1. Craig says:

    Manny is absolutely great. Seriously, every time we watch, I end up laughing hysterically and saying “I love that kid.” Then Melissa turns and gives me a look that says, “You _are_ that kid, moron.”

    Wow, Lilly is going to grow quite a bit between seasons.

  2. Ashley says:

    I need to rewatch season one. Is it playing on Netflix?

    • Gretchen Alice says:

      It’s not on Instant–I got it through the DVDs. When the price plan switches over, I’m probably going to just move to a straight 2 DVDs out a time plan. I’m…not really sure why you need to know that, but there you are.

  3. Eva says:

    I thought unresponsive Lily was a perfect foil; the new kid is awfully cute. I just hope we don’t get the Tanner twins. So far, the show has done a great job of keeping the kids like actual kids.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact Us:

    bigdamnheroes3 at gmail dot com
