Introducing! The Farscape Rewatch

ashleyToday is a monumental occasion, my friends. Today, after not one but two, massively expensive previous failures on this front, Farscape is being released on DVD at an affordable, normal price, and my copy shipped yesterday afternoon at 4:00 PM. I’ve been lucky enough for the past six years to live in a town with a video store that has every DVD you could ever, ever possibly want, so when I wanted to watch Farscape, I could. But you, my friends, you have not been so lucky . . . until now. As of today, Farscape is easily accessible on DVD in every major retail store near you (and on iTunes), and you have no more excuses. Do you know what this means? It’s Farscape Rewatch time!

This is how it’s going to work: you’re going to go out sometime this week to your local Blockbuster, Target, or Amazon.com, or you’re gonna get on your Netflix . . . and you are going to acquire Farscape on DVD. You are going to do this for me, because you love me, just as I am doing this for you because I love you. I want you to know what I know. Because we are friends, and friends give each other presents. Here is what I want to give you. I want to give you even more friends: hot ones, funny ones, creepy ones, puppet ones. I want to show you my #1 TV Boyfriend, and the love of his life. I want to give you to the best executed romance to ever air on television (not the first time I’ve said that, won’t be the last). I want to give you some damn fine science fiction, and even better, some damn fine storytelling. I want to give you lots of other things, too, but this will have to do for now.

After you have acquired your DVD’s, here’s what you’re going to do: You’re going to sit down in front of your TV or your laptop or whatever platform you people use to watch your DVDs, and you’re going to watch the first two episodes of the first season (“Premiere,” “I, E.T.”). Then you’re going to come back here a week from today and we’re going to start ourselves a rewatch. If you’ve never participated in a rewatch before, here’s your chance. You get to experience (or re-experience) a great television show with a whole big whopping community of viewers. You get to talk to each other, to complain, to laugh. You will automatically have a ton of friends to cry with when shit hits the fan, and I promise when we get to the end, you won’t be sorry. Just bring your brains and your typin’ fingers, and the rest’ll be easy.

To the Farscape Noobs (I’m talking to you): If you’re feeling doubtful, or if you’re not thinking about doing this and just feeling like giving me the big middle finger, I want you to think long and hard. Do I not have impeccable taste? Have I ever led you wrong? Ask the many, many, many, many people I have forced to watch my DVDs over the years. I am a one-woman TV proselytizer, and you should listen to me. Two episodes a week for a year is not a big commitment (and you can even go faster if you like — that’s what she said).

And finally, to all the Scapers reading this: tell everyone you know, this is the place to be on the internet right now. I’m making a declaration. It’ll be almost like it’s 1999 and Farscape is premiering all over again. It’s gonna be awesome. Well? What are you waiting for? Lock up your women and hide the fried chicken! It’s Farscape time.

[UPDATE: I’ve been informed that Netflix is currently streaming the first three seasons, so you don’t even have to wait for the discs, if you don’t want to!]

Comments
45 Responses to “Introducing! The Farscape Rewatch”
  1. Emily says:

    Didn’t you just watch this? Like, less than a year ago?…

  2. amorporchoco says:

    In! Mine are on the way too!

  3. Dan says:

    AAAAAAERYYYYYYYYN!!!!!

    (That was my Crichton impression.)

  4. myoctober says:

    This just made me CHEER. Seriously. My neighbors must think I’m a freak.

    But seriously, you know I’m there. FUCK YEAH!

    Lock up your women and hide the fried chicken!!

  5. Carl says:

    I am in. You should think about making a forum or some place that we can all easily get together to talk about the rewatch.

    Maybe make it into an on-going thing. Do like Lost or BSG after Farscape. Maybe even put it up to a vote to the group. :)

    • Ashley says:

      Dude, you read my mind. I was thinking both of those would be fun, although I’d want to do Lost first, I think. I have SO much to say about that show, and since I’m more emotionally distant and don’t get so crazy about it, I think it would go better. BSG still makes me all hot and bothered, so I should probably wait a while. God, that’s a good show. Sigh.

      As for the forum thing, I was thinking about just using the WordPress comment form for now, and maybe depending on how big this thing gets (I honestly don’t know what kind of response to expect) I could move it to a forum. We’ll see how it goes. It also depends on how many people are willing to take time to actually discuss things, instead of just reading them.

    • Abigail says:

      Yeah, this IS the forum, Carl! Tell your friends. Discuss right here in the comments!

      • Carl says:

        No offense, but the comment section is far from an optimal way to discuss much of anything and I would prefer to not get 20 emails in one night telling me that there has been a reply that has nothing to do with what I was discussing ;)

        There are a lot of free and easy solutions if you guys change, let me know if you’d like any help.

  6. Jen says:

    Ok, but I’ll be watching for the first time and I’m a little worried about spoilers. It’s like when you were watching Stargate Atlantis for the first time and the only things I could think to say were about things that hadn’t happened yet. It can be a hard urge to fight.

  7. Ashley says:

    You totally shouldn’t have held back. When I’m watching a show for the first time, I don’t really care about spoilers. I always head over to Wikipedia and get a general sense for where the series will end up. This a) gives me something to look forward to, b) places the series in this weird mindset for me, where it’s almost mythologized, like OOOH this has already happened, look what I am discovering, like I’m on a safari, and c) for the most part, my enjoyment of a TV show is never hindered by knowing the plot in advance.

    There are exceptions, of course, like the last season of BSG (and finding out the Cylons) and Lost, where a significant part of the narrative enjoyment comes from being surprised.

    So what I’m saying is, I’ll try to be careful, and I’ll let other commenters know to be careful. I don’t foresee myself giving away huge plot details in summaries or whatever, although you’ll probably get a general sense just from the way that I think about the series. I’ll try to be gentle, though.

    • Ashley says:

      Also, YAY! I’m so happy you’re watching!

      • Jen says:

        You have never steered me wrong – Bones, Veronica Mars, Modern Family, all watched on your recommendation. Your philosophy is a good way to think about things. I’m usually pretty anti-spoiler but only once has it ever made me mad that I knew about something before it happened (Dr. Who). Plus, I guess I didn’t love it any less because I was spoiled. I understand that I can’t expect the conversation to be totally void of references to later seasons and I’ll try and keep that perspective.

        Also – I think you should definitely do Lost after this. It is at the point where I don’t remember all the things that came before, so sometimes the stuff happening now doesn’t resonate like it should. I think I’m missing some of the “OH! It’s THAT guy!” moments and it might be fun to watch with a group.

    • Abigail says:

      UGH. I HATE spoilers.

  8. Abigail says:

    I’m going to definitely watch the pilot. Not sure about the full experience commitment, but I will watch the pilot. THIS WEEK even.

  9. NTE says:

    Now that I know I can watch it on my computer (although Netflix, seriously? What is with the Explorer love? Firefox it, already), I will play along too! I haven’t actually heard too much about this show except from you guys, but I figure what I really need is one more show that I quote lines from that nobody (IRL) ever gets.

    • Ashley says:

      I stream things on Netflix all the time. It’s compatible with Firefox and Mac software now, although it didn’t use to be, so you are good to go.

      Also, this is going to be so much fun! I love this.

  10. Cassandra says:

    So, I kinda want to do this but I have no money for DVDs or Netflix! -cries- I shall comb the internet looking for it.

  11. amorporchoco says:

    Just got home! Mine are here! Psyched. And I agree that an actual forum would be better.

  12. Michael says:

    I guess I’m going to have to find my copy of the first to seasons… then explain to the wife why I need the rest… Just wish I had netflix in canada, streaming would be so convenient.

    I don’t think I’ll be able to get her to watch… maybe I’ll try tonight.

  13. Hilly says:

    I just added this to my Netflix instant queue and am about to watch it. Thanks Abigail for pointing me in this direction!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] because I somehow have been getting extra readers these days, I want EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU to go over here and participate. Ashley does not lie. It is […]



Leave a Reply

  • Contact Us:

    bigdamnheroes3 at gmail dot com
