Movie UnReview: Love Happens

abigailI’m not so excellent at movie reviews. Mostly because I like to discuss all the plot points and um SPOILER ALERT ruining the movie does not make a good review. I am so anti-spoiler that I don’t even read movie reviews before seeing movies. Howevs, after I’ve seen the movie I really want to talk about it. So then I start googling reviews to see if people agreed with me, to see if someone out there wrote something that crystallizes why I’m thinking, or to figure out that plot point that confused me. (It’s all about me. Obviously.)

The other thing I do is talk about the movie. Blah blah blah blah blah. Especially if I can find someone who didn’t see, who won’t see it because then I can tell them alllllllll about it. I’m your new best friend.

So, what better place to put these thoughts, these blah blah blahs, than here? I’m not only your new best friend, I’m your Hero. You’re welcome. I’m calling these UnReviews because they’re not reviews. And they are FULL of SPOILERS. Let me say that louder, like Ashley does.

SPOILERS!
love-happens_m
So, I saw Love Happens last weekend at our dollar theater and I liked it! I realized when the movie started that I didn’t actually know anything about it. I mean, there was a Dead Wife Plot Line. I HATE those! So sad! But I powered through and it wasn’t bad. It wasn’t even what I expected (from a dead wife plot line).

See Eckhart (swoon) was this famous guy and he was famous because he wrote a book called A Okay about dealing with grief. He leads workshops and stuff to help people. At first you think he’s going to be a douchebag because he’s famous and taking advantage of these people, but he’s actually for real legit. He is helping them! Through their grief! Awwww.

I mean, the movie was positive and encouraging!

Twist though: he never actually has dealt with his own grief. His big flaw is that he lies about how his wife dies because he feels so responsible. (Car accident. Totally unavoidable. No one was responsible. Heart breaking.)

So he meets Jen on his trip to do a workshop and it’s the first time he’s noticed a girl in the three years since his wife died. And she has a flower shop (awesome) and she helps him deal with his shit and pushes him to deal with his grief and stuff. It’s so good.

In the end he has fixed everything up, and he’s got the awesome flower girl, AND he signs a TV deal to make him even more famous. But it’s not selling out. That’s the great thing about this movie, there is no dichotomy. He’s not in it for the money, but he gets the money which is awesome, and he’s still helping people. And now with the TV mega deal he can help even more people! (I would totally watch his show, by the way.)

I was so pleasantly surprised by this movie. It was sweet and funny and totally un-douchey. So many romantic comedies are about one or both of the characters being douchebags and then changing. I prefer my movies douchbag free. Win win for this.

Comments
2 Responses to “Movie UnReview: Love Happens”
  1. Cate says:

    Think you’re right about this one. I didn’t love the movie while it was happening, but then at the end I was like, Hey, I really like both these people, and they bring out the best in each other, and he’s a catch! And then I felt all warm and fuzzy and happy. So, good movie. Also, lets run a flower shop!

  2. Ashley says:

    I saw this preview a million times over the summer and I wanted to see it every time. My mom saw it on opening night because Aaron Eckhart is her boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact Us:

    bigdamnheroes3 at gmail dot com
