TV’s Best/Worst/Weirdest: Sept 20-26

abigailThis was a fun week. A whole slough of premieres and pilots that had me freaking out about how I was going to handle the rest of my life (summers always get me out of whack). Plus, I’m trying to catch up on Bones before I miss much more of Season 5. But, um, I just started (with Season 1) so my expectations are a little unrealistic. I need to learn how to juggle grad school and TV like Ashley does. She’s an evil genius, that one. I’m not doing a good job of trying new shows (because of the time thing), but these shows are still fantastic. Check them out.

Best!

Parks and Recreation, “The Stakeout” – My heart exploded from the sweetness of this episode.prcommunitygardenAre you watching this show? No? GET ON IT. It’s definitely Office-adjacent with the same producer/writer type people running it and last season there were issues with Leslie being too much of a Michael Scott shadow, but this season she has pulled away from that. You never hate Leslie the way you can hate Michael and Leslie never needs your pity, she just wants you. Does that make sense? In this episode, she finds out that someone has planted marijuana in her community garden and decides to have a stakeout and catch the “kingpin.” Of course, her stake out coincides nicely with Ann and Mark’s first date–something Leslie doesn’t want to happen, but knows better than to interfere. Everything devolves into chaos when Tom gets arrested for breaking into the stakeout van (after locking himself out) and maybe being a pervert what with the stakeout candy and cameras. Back at the station, Leslie explains the whole situation to a cop: the candy, the stakeout, Mark and Ann, and her feelings in such a way that the cop falls for her. Oh, Leslie. Meanwhile, April the intern rescues Ron when she realizes something is wrong with him. Sure enough, he’s got a hernia and can’t move so she comes back late at night (after stealing her dad’s car) to get him to the hospital. Hilarious and so sweet.

How I Met Your Mother, “Definitions” – Barney and Robin are Boyfriend/Girlfriendbarneyrobin
This episode was all I hoped for and more–in fact, when the opening music started I was shocked that it wasn’t over already because I had been so charmed by the first few minutes–and gave us pure, classic, mosbius Mosby. Oh, Ted. But the best part for me was when Barney and Robin declared their love for one another. Sure, they were “lying” so they could get out of the bedroom Lily and Indiana Jones (Marshall) had locked them in, but, listen:

Robin: Barney is AWESOME.
Barney: Robin is AWESOME.
Robin: He can wear the hell out of a suit.
Barney: And she can hold her scotch.
Robin: He’s my boyfriend.
Barney: She’s my girlfriend.
……..
Ted: You do know they were lying right?
Lily: No, Ted. They don’t know that they weren’t lying.

LOVE.

Worst!

61st Primetime Emmy Awards – Jon Cryer wins joncryerIn the category of Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series Tracy Morgan was nominated for 30 Rock, Jack McBrayer for 30 Rock, Kevin Dillon for Entourage, Neil Patrick Harris for How I Met Your Mother, Rainn Wilson for The Office, and Jon Cryer for Two and a Half Men. What? Just what? I mean, how? Let’s say we ignore the shows and writing themselves and just focus on the acting (which I guess is the point anyway) and still IT MAKES NO SENSE. UGH. GAH. @*%&!

Weirdest!

The Office, “The Meeting” – Jim’s Being All Secrets and Toby Goes Along With Dwight’s CrazyofficethemeetingWhile I’m happy for Jim and his new fancy job and I understood his explanation of why he kept Michael out of it (Michael is unequivocally an effer-upper), it just didn’t feel right. As the viewer I felt left out just like Michael. And if I have to choose who’s side of a secret to be on, I always choose Jim. Don’t you? Plus, Toby would never have gone along with that stake out plan. He knows better.

Comments
8 Responses to “TV’s Best/Worst/Weirdest: Sept 20-26”
  1. Ashley says:

    Confession: I have never hated Michael Scott. I think he’s sweet and stupid and misguided and I totally understand him.

    • Abigail says:

      Oh man, sometimes I just want to clock him. I think it’s the genius of the writers that they can change my mind back and forth within 20 minutes. Like when he went on the blind date with Pam’s landlady? ASSHOLE.

      • Ashley says:

        Yeah, but in that scene, wasn’t there a part of you that was like, I can totally see where he’s coming from (even while he was being a complete dick to that woman)? I’m pretty sure most people can relate to that feeling, you know? That you are never ever ever ever going to find the right person, and that you will die alone with cats. Michael’s greatest fear is being alone, and I think it’s kind of a gift that he’s so self confident about it. I also think the other part of the writers’ genius is that sometimes Michael Scott says the things everybody else is thinking but can’t say because of the awfulness.

  2. heatherannehogan says:

    The time I wanted to clock Michael most was at Phylis’ wedding when he started dragging that wheelchair DOWN THE AISLE and then forced the groomsmen to scoot over to make room for him. And gah! That speech.

    I loved P&R this week. It was crazy sweet. Like, I hope we look back and this was the Office Olympics of P&R.

    I’d like to add Modern Family’s pilot to the best list. It seriously made me laugh out loud at least four times. Courtney Cox’s Cougar Town was pretty good. I mean, it’s not believable, but it’s funny. I think I’m going to keep watching.

    Also best: Jenny Slate’s “I fucking love you” slip on SNL.

    I agree about The Office being really weird this week. I know it was just a necessary set-up episode, but I confess: I kind of think Jim is a dick when he gets put in charge of stuff. I don’t know if I’m going to like this whole co-manager thing.

    • Ashley says:

      The Lion King baby entry KILLED ME. “I can’t turn it off, it’s who I am!”

      I, too, liked Cougar Town (marginally), but not enough to keep watching. I counted all my shows up and I have twenty-three, not including that one. So, goodbye!

  3. heatherannehogan says:

    If I had to choose between Cougar Town and something else, I’d probably drop it, too. But I have crazy loyalty for all the Friends cast. Like, I’ve totally watched that TNT movie where Chandler plays Ron Clark. (The teacher.)

    The thing on Modern Family about shooting the kid? That was amazing.

  4. You guys were right. Modern Family pilot = GENIUS.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact Us:

    bigdamnheroes3 at gmail dot com
