Post-Summer Movie Recap: “Production value!”

Summer won’t be over in Austin for another six weeks or so, but the summer movie season has drawn to a close. Months ago, I blogged about what were my most anticipated releases for the season. Let’s see how they held up.

10. The Tree of Life, May 27

I never got around to watching this. I’d still like to, but the post-release hype wasn’t convincing enough for me.

9. Midnight in Paris, May 20

This one will stick with me the most. I still have daydreams about the world of Paris in the 20s.

8. The Art of Getting By, June 17

Totally forgot this movie even existed. Whoops?

7. Thor, May 6

All of my superhero movies built upon one another. Thor was fun…

6. X-Men: First Class, June 3

X-Men was fun and intelligent…

5. Cowboys & Aliens, July 29

Haven’t seen this yet. (sad face) At this point I’ll just wait for the cheap theater.

4. Captain America: The First Avenger, July 22

…and Captain America was fun and intelligent and had heart. Chris Evens and Hayley Atwell completely won me over. (Can we just talk about how frakking awesome the last few minutes of the movie were? May 4th, I am SO ready for you.)

3. The Help, August 12

All of my effusive love from the last post is still intact. Even though the book is better (as expected), this is a very effective book-to-movie adaption. My favorite part was how the movie drew frequent audible reactions from the crowd.

2. Super 8, June 10

Super 8 wins my prize for best summer movie. I felt like I was a kid at the theater again and I LOVE feeling like that. While I was watching it, I had the thought, “I can’t wait to have kids so I can watch this movie with them.”

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, July 17

It was a summer of Harry Potter for me. I re-read the books and waited impatiently for the movie. I am, and forever will be, a true Harry Potter fan until I die. (Confidential to my Pottermore invite: You can arrive any day now. That’d be swell.)

The only other movie I caught this summer was Crazy, Stupid Love. While it kind of drove me nuts, some of the scenes had me doubled-over with belly laughter. I’ll take a funny, uneven movie over a just plain uneven movie any day.

What was your favorite summer movie?

Comments
4 Responses to “Post-Summer Movie Recap: “Production value!””
  1. Abigail says:

    This summer I think saw: The Help, Crazy Stupid Stupid, and of course my heart, Harry Potter (but UH where is my Pottermore LETTER??). I wanted to see other movies, but I’m so bad at getting out of the house these days! H&H were great fun. Crazy was dumb, but I agree with your sentiments as well. Cast was really fun to watch most of the time with the exception of Julianne Moore who I am just so tired of.

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    Short and sweet reviews.

Leave a Reply

  • Contact Us:

    bigdamnheroes3 at gmail dot com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

